Skip to content

The Academic Success Coaching Team

About us:

Academic Success Coaches are responsible for ensuring that students receive persistent, proactive, individualized mentoring, academic coaching and support throughout their time at Lansing Community College. We believe in working with students to help them identify and utilize their strengths while empowering them to succeed at LCC and accomplish their academic goals.

What we do:

We meet with students! Students are encouraged to reach out to an Academic Success Coach; they may also be referred to us by instructors or other members of the LCC community. During our meetings we will learn about the students' experiences at LCC, identify obstacles that may be barriers to their academic success, and help strategize solutions and next-steps. Some of the topics discussed may include:

  • Study strategies - how to effectively study, take notes, and keep organized
  • Time Management - how to balance work, school, and other responsibilities
  • Self-Awareness - helping students identify their strengths, purpose, and goals
  • Campus Engagement and Resources - Identifying opportunities and resources on campus and helping students make those connections

Feel free to contact us anytime. Even if you're not sure where to start, we'll help. Email us at: lcc-successteam@lcc.edu or feel free to directly reach out to anyone on our Success Team!

Success Coach Referral Form

Who we are:

Shalonda James-Garza
Success Coach Manager
517-483-1401
jamess2@lcc.edu


Indira Vazgec
Success Coach Manager
517-483-1306
vazgeci@lcc.edu


Sarah Garcia-Linz
Academic Success Coach
517-483-1405
linzs1@lcc.edu


Marriah Eschtruth
Academic Success Coach
517-483-1445
eschtrum@lcc.edu


Tami Marsh, LLMSW
Academic Success Coach
517-483-1413
marsht8@lcc.edu


Duane A. Portee
Academic Success Coach
517-483-1470
porteed2@lcc.edu


Phany Sarann
Academic Success Coach
517-483-1418
sarannp@lcc.edu


Student Affairs Division

Student Affairs Division
Gannon Building
2nd Floor - StarZone
Phone: (517) 483-1200
Additional contact information »

Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr